Virtual rostering: how to share resources between group tours and Open schedule tours/activities on a first-come, first-served basis

Bookeo's Virtual rostering feature allows you to share resources between group tours and/or Open schedule tours on a first-come, first-served basis.
For example you can offer a group tour for 10 people or an 
Open schedule tour for 1 person using the same resource - guide -, on a first-come, first-served basis.

 Using Bookeo Appointments? Click here

 Using Bookeo Classes & Courses? Click here

In this article:


Enable virtual rostering for group tours

1. Go to Settings>Tours/Activities

2. Click on a specific tour

3. Go to the Schedule tab

4. In the Virtual roster section, tick the checkbox Do not allocate resources for a tour until the first booking is made.



5. Save

To use the Virtual Rostering feature, you will have to assign resources to your tours.


Virtual rostering in your Bookeo calendar 

Group tours scheduled in virtual rostering, will show in your Bookeo calendar.
Group tours scheduled in virtual rostering, will show in your resources' calendar only if you receive a booking for the tour.

If a booking is made for a tour in virtual rostering with another tour, the tour without the booking will be automatically canceled by Bookeo. The tour will show as canceled - in a dark grey color - in your Calendar.

If you want to hide canceled tours from your calendar, click on the Canceled button above your calendar.


Virtual rostering in your booking page

​Group tours scheduled in virtual rostering, will show in your booking page.

If a booking is made for a tour in virtual rostering and there is another tour that requires the same resources,  the tour without the booking will be automatically canceled by Bookeo.


What happens if users of my Bookeo account and customers are trying to book tours in virtual rostering (using the same resource)?

Virtual rostering allows bookings on a first-come, first-served basis. If multiple people are trying to make a booking for tours in virtual rostering - using the same resources -, the first completed booking will automatically cancel the availability of the resource(s) for other bookings. Please note that your Bookeo calendar immediately updates with any block or new booking, but if customers have opened your booking page in their browser, the page will be updated with new blocks and bookings only if customers refresh the booking page.

Let's say that your customer John and the user of your account Sarah are making a booking for a tours in virtual rostering.  

Example 1: your customer makes or completes the booking before your account user

Your customer John completes his booking before Sarah. When Sarah tries to finalize her booking, she will get an error message. 


Message when another booking has been made for the same resource.


Example 2: your account user completes the booking before your customer

Sarah completes the booking before your customer John. When John tries to finalize his booking, he will get the error message shown in the screenshot below.