Virtual rostering: how to share resources between workshops and services on a first-come, first-served basis

Bookeo's Virtual rostering feature allows you to share resources between group workshops and/or services on a first-come, first-served basis.

For example you can offer a group workshop for 10 people or service for 1 person using the same resource - consultant -, on a first-come, first-served basis.

 Using Bookeo Classes & Courses? Click here

  Using Bookeo Tours & Activities? Click here

Enable virtual rostering for group workshops
1. Go to Settings>Workshops
2. Click on a specific workshop
3. Go to the Schedule tab
4. In the Virtual roster section, tick the checkbox Do not allocate resources for a workshop until the first booking is made.


5. Save

 

To use the Virtual Rostering feature, you will have to assign resources to your workshops.

   

Virtual rostering in your Bookeo calendar 

Group workshops scheduled in virtual rostering will show in your Bookeo calendar.
Group workshops scheduled in virtual rostering will show in your resources' calendar only if you receive a booking for the workshop.

If a booking is made for a workshop in virtual rostering with another workshop, the workshop without the booking will be automatically canceled by Bookeo. The workshop will show as canceled - in a dark grey color - in your Calendar.

If you want to hide canceled workshops from your calendar, click on the Canceled button above your calendar.



 

Virtual rostering in your booking page

Group workshops scheduled in virtual rostering, will show in your booking page.

If a booking is made for a workshop in virtual rostering and there is another workshop that requires the same resources,  the workshop without the booking will be automatically canceled by Bookeo.


What happens if users of my Bookeo account and customers are trying to book workshops in virtual rostering (using the same resource)?

Virtual rostering allows bookings on a first-come, first-served basis. If multiple people are trying to make a booking for workshops in virtual rostering - using the same resources -, the first completed booking will automatically cancel the availability of the resource(s) for other bookings. 
Please note that your Bookeo calendar immediately updates with any block or new booking, but if customers have opened your booking page in their browser, the page will be updated with new blocks and bookings only if customers refresh the booking page.

Let's say that your customer John and the user of your account Sarah are making a booking for a workshops in virtual rostering. 
 

Example 1: your customer makes or completes the booking before your account user
Your customer John completes his booking before Sarah. When Sarah tries to finalize her booking, she will get an error message. 

Message when another booking has been made for the same resource


Example 2: your account user completes the booking before your customer

Sarah completes the booking before your customer John. When John tries to finalize his booking, he will get the error message shown in the screenshot below.